Let me start with this: I have always LOVED Valentine’s Day! I don’t know why… Maybe it’s because I’m a gooey romantic, and this is the perfect day to let that loose and go a little over board with the cheesy stuff! Haha!

However, it’s actually very uncommon to celebrate Valentine’s Day in Denmark! In fact, most Danes hate it and find it to be an adopted custom from America, just so the stores can make more money. I don’t agree on that at all though. To me, Valentine’s day doesn’t have to cost anything… it should be all about being with loved ones. How can you not love a day like that?

On this day last year, Björn and I were 600 miles apart and I hated it! I’ve honestly been looking forward to this day for a year now, and I’m so happy we are finally here…

My morning started out way too early and with some small bumps on the road… The kids woke up at 3.30 and they just wouldn’t go back to sleep (Jesus Christ, those little rascals are stubborn AF sometimes!)

Every now and then, I wonder: Why on earth would anyone ever do that to themselves… this whole ”having kids”-thing?? … kids are messy, they don’t listen, they basically do everything they aren’t supposed to do and also, they are very noisy!

I think we slept about an hour on and off from there on, but it was mostly nothing… I’m tired, like soul crushingly tired most of the time and I hardly even recognize myself anymore… The fact is that 3 years ago I would have never even considered being with a guy that already had kids. It just wasn’t for me. Yet, here I am… In Sweden (where FYI I never in a million years thought I would be either) with 2 stepson’s.

Yes, some days I just want to run away screaming, but I could never actually do it, because even though they can be little tyrants most of the time, I love them to death. They make me so happy, they make me smile and laugh, even with all the stupid shit they do that pisses me off. However, I can’t stay mad at them for more than a couple of minutes, because I’m not just in love with their father, I’m in love with them too… It’s impossible not to be when they run to you with arms wide open, ready with hugs and kisses, always so full of excitement. I mean, WOW… That feeling they give you, like you are one of the most important people in their whole universe, even though you have only been in their lives for a year… It’s the most precious feeling ever.

Yes, they can drive me crazy at times, in fact they drive me completely nuts way too often, but they also make me feel complete in I way I still don’t understand. They make me feel so loved and I would do absolutely anything for them, and all they have to do is ask

This rollercoaster is my life now and I don’t ever want to get off of it. Honestly, I wouldn’t change it for the world, and I can’t wait for the years to come… To see them grow up, learn new things, teach them right from wrong, spoil the hell out of them and loving them equally. Hell, even as I sit here writing this, I miss them and it’s only been a few hours since they left… (and I’m most definitely not crying writing this down… These are not actual tears, you know! The roof is leaking… or something! Let’s just… change the subject, OK?!)

Anyway, there I was in bed, almost comatose, when Björn got up to take care of the kids… He had the best intentions to let me sleep, but let’s just face it, it’s a lost cause with 2 kids under the age of 5, 2 dogs and a cat, but he definitely deserves an A+ for effort! I quickly gave up on trying to get more sleep... Sleeping is totally overrated anyway, right?

I am not a morning person at all, especially not within the first hour, but I managed to get dressed though, and I decided to go and wake up nice and calmly on the couch. (Let’s just pretend that it isn’t completely naive to think that in the first place, okay?)

I sat there, grumpy and tired, with bags under my eyes and a banging headache. The kids where running back and forward screaming and laughing, like they usually do every morning, when I heard cooking sounds from the kitchen.

Sounds like that are really uncommon in our home on a week day. Honestly, we never eat breakfast together all of us, unless we have the day off. Usually it’s all about getting the kids ready to go to pre-school. You know... Feeding them… Getting them dressed. Making them stop chasing the cat… Making them stop dragging the dog food everywhere in the apartment to feed the dogs by hand… Let’s just say that it is always a little bit stressful in the mornings here! (Some mornings more than others, depending on their level of willingness to cooperate!)

Baby, what are you doing? Aren’t you going to work?” I asked as I walking in to the kitchen. His brown eyes met mine, and as he stared back at me, that well-known, warm feeling spread from my heart throughout my body. He answered ”Yes, but I’m cooking you a Valentine’s Day breakfast first” and with a completely non-spoken DUH hanging in the air, like it was the most natural and obvious thing ever, I couldn’t help but smile. No one had ever cooked a Valentine’s breakfast for me before, and it made me feel so loved.

That’s the thing with Björn, he always manages to do that, even with little things… He always makes me feel loved and cared for. I think it’s his super-power.

As I helped the kids getting dressed, Björn finished cooking. We ate breakfast all of us and it felt amazing. To me, that was a perfect way to start our first Valentines Day together… Before the they left, we hugged and kissed and the last thing I heard was ”Love you, Mia” before the door closed behind them…

In so many ways, my life couldn’t have been more different now than a year ago. This year on Valentines I have everything I never knew I wanted, but I have all I need. I have the love of my life, my best best friend. I two adorable kids (5 if you count the animals) and a home I love so much, because it’s OUR home. I couldn’t imagine my life in any other way.

Tonight, however, we are keeping it simple – probably just some fast food and a movie (What can I say? – I’m a simple girl!) It doesn’t matter much to me what we are doing or where we are, as long as we are together and I can’t wait to get started…

With that said: HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY, guys! I truly hope that your day will be filled with as much love as mine is!

Take care until next time…

– Maria

P.s.
Feel free to share your Valentines day in the box below – I would love to hear all about it 🙂

