Hello world, and welcome to my blog!

So, this is officially my first post ever! (Insert shocked emoji of choice here)

It was actually my dream for 2017 to start blogging, and look at me doing exactly that… I mean, I’m probably more shocked than you are! Who would have thought that I would actually pull through with my new years resolution this year? I mean, for my almost 30 years, it should be about time, I know… But, sometimes, life just gets in the way of actually accomplishing what you originally set out to do. You all know the drill… But hey – So far 2017 is off to a great start, right?

Before I go into all the reasons of why I wanted to start this blog, I just want to direct you to the picture above… You see that guy right there with me, goofing around? Well, take a good look at him (Lord knows I have!), because he is actually very important for this blog.

Well, you might have guessed by now that this guy is my “Happily Ever After”, and therefor the whole reason for the idea behind this blog. I know, it’s not very original, and many others has had the idea before me, I can’t deny that. Therefor I’m not going to try and make it into something it’s not; it’s probably just like any other blog out there…

Now that doesn’t really sound that promising, does it? At this point, you may be asking yourselves the big question: Why? If so many others has done it before, then why not just give up the idea? Why make a blog that has already been done multiple times before? And honestly, I wouldn’t blame you if you were…

However, the answer to those questions is fairly simple: Because I want to. Sure, for a split second I wondered if I should try something else or just forget about it. I got cold feet as I normally do, when I’m about to do something out of my comfort zone, and this is waaay out of my comfort zone, believe me! But this time, I’m not going to chicken out because someone might have done this before and may be even better at it than me. Hell no, not this time! I want this. I’m inspired, I have a story to tell. Maybe I will only be writing for me, maybe I will have no readers, but so be it. For me it is important to do what I love to do, and I love to write. Writing is my passion… along with the gentleman on the picture. So why wouldn’t I combine the two and tell you guys about my life… share my story?

I could easily turn this blog into a sweet, corny and constant declaration of love, painting a perfect picture of life together after the movie ends… the happily ever after… but let me be real about this: Life isn’t always perfect and that’s okay too!

Just like the picture I posted, we, my boyfriend and I, can be very happy… almost to the point were other people gets tired of us, but we can also be very frustrated and sometimes even angry with each other. However, that doesn’t mean I’m not living my dream. It simply means that we are human beings with feelings and emotions! Just because we can disagree and argue from time to time, doesn’t mean that I’m not living a fairytale, because I really, truly am… I’m just living a real life version of one, a realistic one where Prince Charming might not be charming 100 percent of the time. It means that we can see past imperfections, and love each other more because of them.  Lastly it means that because of the love we share, we  are willing to fight alongside of each other to make things work, especially during hard times.

Communication, understanding, compromise and listening are all key ingredients to make a relationship last, and that is exactly what we are providing for each other.

I’m no expert at love, nor do I claim to be. What I am providing here is simply sharing my experience with love. I was married for seven years (this subject I will return to in another post later), and never was I able to make it work. So I have probably experienced more bad than good, but my failed marriage has taught me a thing or two about love and relationships, though. It also taught me alot about myself, and it was a big part of my journey to my happy ending and where I am today. That part of my life is long over, a new chapter started, and I can promise you: It doesn’t get any better than this!

– Maria

